SINGLE PAIR ETHERNET
THE NETWORK-
INFRASTRUCTURE FOR
INDUSTRIAL IOT.

hero-image-desktop.jpg

Single Pair Ethernet: Uniform standards as an opportunity for innovation

Single Pair Ethernet (SPE) is the parallel transmission of data and power over just one twisted-pair using Power over Data Line (PoDL). SPE enables continuous IP communication between server and cloud as well as power supply in complex IIoT solutions. SPE represents the next milestone in network technology and will revolutionise the market.
The SPE System Alliance has been founded in order to optimally exploit the immense potential of this new technology for the future. This alliance of leading technology companies aims to promote the use of SPE technology in industry and establish uniform standards.

The idea of the Single Pair Ethernet: High performance – low cabling

The impetus for the development of SPE technology comes from the automotive industry. Wiring currently accounts for a large part of the vehicle weight. In order to make vehicles lighter and thus more economical, a more efficient cable infrastructure is required that achieves the highest performance with as few cables as possible.

Technology

Reliable sensor-to-cloud communication

Single Pair Ethernet is the extension of Ethernet technology into sensor technology. SPE is compact, flexible, and enables high ranges for data connections where Ethernet systems reach their limits. SPE allows the extension of existing installations and supports consistent communication based on the Ethernet protocol.

Learn more

"Single Pair Ethernet (SPE) is one of the megatrends in industrial data transmission. SPE deliberately does not define new transmission speeds and distances, but rather forms the normative framework for reduced cabling in line with the application"

Torsten Janwlecke, President Business Area Device Connectors at Phoenix Contact
Technology

Wide range of industry applications

All sectors of industry can benefit from SPE technology, because the number of intelligent end devices is increasing significantly in the plant field. SPE enables a continuous connection from the sensor to the cloud – and in practically every application: including industry, logistics, building services engineering, or wherever data is sent and received.

Learn more

"Compact design, miniaturised dimensions, a significant reduction in weight as well as the simple connection options make SPE technology also interesting for automation technology, building cabling, railway technology, and many other applications",

Florian Gärtner, Chief Executive Officer of Telegärtner

Uniform standardization for the Single Pair Ethernet infrastructure

The specifications that SPE infrastructure must meet are defined in standards such as IEEE or ISO/IEC. According to these standards, secure transmission starts with a processor and extends to the circuit board and various components. Contrary to what is frequently stated, standardization in this environment ensures the entire connection of passive and active components while fulfilling all requirements.

Technology

Elaboration of a common standard

For SPE technology to establish itself optimally on the market, uniform connectors and uniform components for the infrastructure must be defined. For this reason, the partners of the SPE System Alliance are working on optimally matching their components based on international standards.

Learn more

"Our cooperation in standardisation creates security. On the basis of standardised interfaces, users around the world can build efficient network and cabling structures from the sensor to the control and company level right up to the cloud."

Torsten Janwlecke, President Business Area Device Connectors at Phoenix Contact
Technology

Development of a comprehensive range of SPE products

The basis for barrier-free networking is an infrastructure that connects a wide variety of components – for example cables, connectors, devices, sensors, and circuit boards. That's why leading technology companies from various fields have joined in the SPE System Alliance to develop components for SPE technology. These include companies from the connector industry, automation technology, sensor technology, as well as chip manufacturers, switch manufacturers, measuring device manufacturers, the cable industry, and the online education sector.
Leading manufacturers Phoenix Contact, Rosenberger, Telegärtner and Weidmüller have already jointly implemented a uniform standard for SPE mating faces in the IP20 and IP6X environment.

Learn more

"For plant engineers, the Single Pair Ethernet makes work easier. Installation is simpler compared to four-pair Ethernet and allows a noticeable reduction in space and weight."

Jörg Scheer, Head of the Device & Field Connectivity Division at Weidmüller
Technology

A strong partnership to promote SPE technology

The SPE System Alliance is an open association of leading technology companies from different industries and fields of application. All partners of the SPE System Alliance pursue the common goal of promoting Single Pair Ethernet technology for IIoT applications. To this end, they pool their know-how in the field of SPE and engage in a targeted exchange of ideas.

Join in

Contact

Members of the System Alliance

SINGLE PAIR ETHERNET
DIE NETZWERK-
INFRASTRUKTUR FÜR
DAS INDUSTRIAL IOT.

hero-image-desktop.jpg

TECHNOLOGY DAYS
22./23.09.2020

Wir laden Sie herzlich ein zu den virtuellen SPE Technology Days 2020

Single Pair Ethernet: Einheitliche Standards als Chance für Innovationen

Single Pair Ethernet (SPE) ist die parallele Übertragung von Daten und Energie über nur eine Doppelader mithilfe von Power over Data Line (PoDL). SPE ermöglicht sowohl die durchgängige IP-Kommunikation zwischen Server und Cloud, als auch die Stromversorgung in komplexen IIoT-Lösungen.
SPE ist der nächste Meilenstein der Netzwerktechnologie und wird den Markt revolutionieren. Um das immense Potenzial der neuen Technologie optimal für die Zukunft zu nutzen, hat sich die SPE System Alliance gegründet. Der Zusammenschluss führender Technologieunternehmen verfolgt das Ziel, die Anwendung der SPE-Technologie in der Industrie zu fördern und einheitliche Standards zu etablieren.

Die Idee des Single Pair Ethernet: Viel Leistung – wenig Kabel

Der Anstoß für die Entwicklung der SPE-Technologie kommt aus der Automobilindustrie. Dort macht die Verkabelung heute einen Großteil des Fahrzeuggewichts aus. Um die Fahrzeuge leichter und damit wirtschaftlicher zu machen, ist eine effizientere Kabelinfrastruktur erforderlich, die mit möglichst wenig Kabel viel leistet.

text pic image

Durchgängige Kommunikation vom Sensor bis in die Cloud

Single Pair Ethernet ist die Erweiterung der Ethernet-Technologie bis in die Sensorik. SPE ist kompakt, flexibel und ermöglicht hohe Reichweiten. So werden Datenverbindungen möglich, bei denen Ethernet-Systeme an ihre Grenzen kommen. SPE erlaubt die Erweiterung bestehender Installationen und unterstützt die durchgängige Kommunikation auf Basis des Ethernet-Protokolls.

Mehr erfahren

„Single Pair Ethernet (SPE) ist einer der Megatrends der industriellen Datenübertragung. SPE definiert bewusst keine neuen Übertragungsgeschwindigkeiten und -strecken, sondern bildet den normativen Rahmen für eine anwendungsgerecht reduzierte Verkabelung.“

Torsten Janwlecke, President Business Area Device Connectors bei Phoenix Contact
text pic image

Vielfältige Anwendungsmöglichkeiten in der Industrie

Sämtliche Industriebereiche können von der SPE-Technologie profitieren, denn im Anlagenfeld steigt die Zahl der intelligenten Endgeräte deutlich. SPE ermöglicht eine durchgängige Verbindung vom Sensor bis zur Cloud – und das in praktisch jeder Anwendung: Ob in der Industrie, in der Logistik, in der Gebäudetechnik oder wo auch immer, Daten können gesendet und empfangen werden.

Mehr erfahren

„Kompakter Aufbau, miniaturisierte Abmessungen, eine deutliche Gewichtsreduktion sowie die einfache Anschlussmöglichkeit machen die SPE-Technologie auch für die Automatisierungstechnik, die Gebäudeverkabelung, die Bahntechnik und viele weitere Anwendungen interessant.“

Florian Gärtner, Geschätsführer Telegärtner Karl Gärtner GmbH

Einheitliche Normierung für die Single Pair Ethernet Infrastruktur

Welche Spezifikationen eine SPE-Infrastruktur erfüllen muss, ist in Standards wie zum Beispiel IEEE oder ISO/IEC festgelegt. Ihnen zufolge beginnt die sichere Übertragung bereits bei einem Prozessor und reicht über die Leiterplatine bis hin zu diversen Bauelementen. Anders als oftmals angegeben, stellen Standardisierungen in diesem Umfeld die gesamte Verbindung passiver wie aktiver Bauelemente unter Erfüllung aller Anforderungen sicher.

text pic image

Erarbeitung eines gemeinsamen Standards

Damit sich die SPE-Technologie optimal am Markt etablieren kann, müssen neben einheitlichen Steckverbindern auch einheitliche Komponenten für die Infrastruktur definiert werden. Deshalb arbeiten die Partner der SPE System Alliance daran, ihre Komponenten auf Basis internationaler Standards optimal aufeinander abzustimmen.

Mehr erfahren

„Unsere Zusammenarbeit in der Normierung schafft Sicherheit. Weltweit können Anwender auf Basis standardisierter Schnittstellen effiziente Netzwerk- und Verkabelungsstrukturen vom Sensor über die Leit- und Unternehmensebene bis hin in die Cloud aufbauen.“

Torsten Janwlecke, President Business Area Device Connectors bei Phoenix Contact
text pic image

Entwicklung eines umfassenden SPE-Produktspektrums

Grundlage für eine barrierefreie Vernetzung ist eine Infrastruktur, die verschiedenste Komponenten miteinander verbindet – zum Beispiel Kabel, Steckverbinder, Geräte, Sensoren und Leiterplatten. Deshalb schließen sich in der SPE System Alliance führende Technologieunternehmen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen zusammen, um Komponenten für die SPE-Technologie zu entwickeln. Dazu zählen Unternehmen aus Steckverbinderindustrie, Automatisierungstechnik, Sensorik, Chiphersteller, Switchhersteller, Messgerätehersteller, Kabelindustrie und dem Bereich Onlinebildung. nSchon heute haben die führenden Hersteller Phoenix Contact, Rosenberger, Telegärtner und Weidmüller gemeinsam einen einheitlichen Standard für SPE-Steckgesichter im IP20- und IP6x-Umfeld realisiert. n

Mehr erfahren

„Für Anlagenbauer ist das Single Pair Ethernet eine Arbeitserleichterung. Die Installation ist im Vergleich zum vierpaarigen Ethernet einfacher und ermöglicht eine spürbare Reduktion von Platz und Gewicht.“

Jörg Scheer, Leiter Division Device & Field Connectivity bei Weidmüller
text pic image

Eine starke Partnerschaft zur Förderung der SPE-Technologie

Die SPE System Alliance ist ein offener Zusammenschluss führender Technologieunternehmen aus unterschiedlichen Branchen und Anwendungsfeldern. Alle Partner der SPE System Alliance verfolgen das gemeinsame Ziel, die Single Pair Ethernet Technologie für IIoT-Anwendungen zu fördern. Dazu bündeln sie ihr Know-how im Bereich SPE und stehen in einem zielgerichteten Austausch.n

Partner werden

Kontakt

Mitglieder der System Alliance